The estimated cost to register and title a vehicle for the first time is approximately $410.00, plus any sales tax due. The state of Florida imposes 6% sales tax on the full purchase price less trade-in. In addition, any applicable county surtax due (1% on the first $5,000) is collected. All applications for title must be signed with the applicant's full name and notarized, if required. All transfers of ownership must be completed within 30 days of the sale date on the title. Failure to do so will result in a $20.00 penalty levied at the time of transfer. When application is made for a Florida Title Certificate, the title fee is $78.25 (or $88.25 for a vehicle with an out of state title). For each lien recorded, a fee of $2.00 is also charged. The purchaser's name, selling price, date of sale, odometer reading and date read, must be completed by the seller in the "transfer of title by seller" section. All person(s) whose name(s) will appear on the title must appear at our office and show proper identification (driver license or appropriate photo ID). If one of the persons whose name will appear on the title cannot be physically present, call 850-892-8121 for information about a Power of Attorney (POA), that gives a person the legal right to sign on the other person's behalf.
Additional information, relevant forms, samples and the latest updates are available at the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles address: http://www.hsmv.state.fl.us
New Vehicles (Never titled in any state)
All new vehicles must have a Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO), which must be signed by a licensed dealer for transfer to buyer. A bill of sale is necessary if the vehicle is coming from an out-of-state dealer. The 6% state sales tax will be collected on the purchase price less any trade amount or previous sales tax paid in a state reciprocal with Florida . In addition, any applicable county surtax is collected. An odometer disclosure signed by seller and buyer either on the bottom of the MCO or on a separate disclosure form is required. If the vehicle was purchased from a licensed Florida motor vehicle dealer, the dealer must complete the title paperwork; it cannot be given to the customer to be completed.
Please bring your vehicle so our staff can perform a vehicle identification number (VIN) verification, weather permitting.
Tax/Licensing Inspector Brian McBroom conducts on-site Vin Verification to assist an elderly customer
VIN verification is NOT required on the following:
- New motor vehicles regardless of whether purchased in Florida or out of state
- Mobile homes
- Trailer-type recreational vehicles (travel trailers, camp trailers, truck campers, and fifth wheel recreational trailers)
- Trailers and semitrailers with a weight of less than 2,000 pounds
- Vehicles currently titled in Florida
Vehicles Previously Titled in Florida
The purchaser must furnish a properly assigned Florida Title to the Tax Collector's Office for transfer. The Transfer of Title area will include the Purchaser(s) name(s), selling price, and correct odometer information completed by the Seller. All owners must be present to sign the appropriate applications and show proper identification (driver license or appropriate photo ID). If one of the persons whose name will appear on the title cannot be present a Power of Attorney may be used. Proof of Florida insurance is required to purchase a license plate. The 6% state sales tax applies to the full purchase price less any trade-in. In addition, any applicable county surtax is collected.
When names on the title are joined by "and" all owners must be present to sign the appropriate application and show proper identification (driver license or appropriate photo ID). The application must be signed by the lienholder if an outstanding lien exists. If the address on record is different than the applicant's current address, documentation/legal ID will be required. The fee for duplicate title is $78.25.
Fast Title Service
Titles can be printed while you wait using our optional fast title service, which is available for most transactions. This same day service eliminates the typical 2-week waiting time. The fee is an additional $7.50.
For sales tax questions, you should contact the Department of Revenue at 1.800.FLA.DOR1. Sales tax as required by Chapter 212, Florida Statutes, is 6% of the purchase price, less trade in. A discretionary sales surtax, also referred to as the local county option tax, may also be imposed depending on your county of residence.
Additional information, relevant forms, and the latest updates are available at the Department of Revenue's Internet address, http://sun6.dms.state.fl.us/dor/
All used motor vehicles, including trailers with a weight of 2000 pounds or more, which are not currently titled in Florida , must have a vehicle identification number (VIN) verification when registered and titled in Florida . In most cases, our staff can perform the vehicle identification number (VIN) verification at our offices, weather permitting. There is no fee for this service. If you are unable to bring your vehicle to our offices, there are several other parties who may perform the VIN verification:
- A licensed Florida motor vehicle dealer
- An out-of-state motor vehicle dealer (must be on the dealer's letterhead)
- Florida DMV Compliance Examiner/Inspector
- A Florida Notary Public
- Provost Marshall, Commissioned Officer, Warrant Officer or Legalman on active military duty.
- A law enforcement officer from any state