Tag Registration and Renewal

Florida uses a metal license plate with an alpha numeric system, meaning there are combinations of letters and numbers used for identification. The license plate is displayed on the rear of the vehicle with the exception of certain commercial vehicles. The plate is issued to the owner for ten years. The owner will receive a new plate (with new numbers and letters) during the tenth year.

Vehicles are registered on a staggered basis according to the registered owner's birth month. The registration expires at midnight on the owner's birthday. The exceptions to this are company owned and short term lease vehicles, which expire in June. Long term lease vehicles are staggered throughout the calendar year, and truck-tractors, semi-trailers, and trucks weighing over 5,000 pounds are renewed in December. Vehicles with the capacity for nine or more passengers and used for hire as well as mobile homes are also renewed in December. All vehicles are licensed according to weight. Travel trailers and mobile homes are licensed according to length.

Two year renewals are now available.



Renew Registration by Mail, Phone, or Online

License plates can be renewed by mail, and returned to the owner.
Renew by phone at 866-467-3639, or renew online by clicking here.
  (By clicking the link, you will be redirected to the Florida Department of Motor Services.)

You must have:
1. Renewal notice with PIN
2. Credit Card
3. Pen & Paper


Proof of Insurance

Proof of insurance (binder, policy, or card) from a certified Florida agent or broker is required to purchase and renew a license plate in Florida. The vehicle owner must present to the Tax Collector documentation of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) in the amount of at least $10,000 combined bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance in the amount of $10,000. Motorcycles, mobile homes and trailers are exempt from the insurance requirement.


Vehicle Registration Prices

Annual license taxes, for the operation of motor vehicles is defined by Florida Statutes, and must be paid at the time of registration and renewal. All fees are subject to change by Legislative Act.

Classification

Net Weight

1 Year Registration           2 Year Registration         

 

 

 

1 Automobile

thru 2499

$ 46.65                            $ 93.30

2 Automobile

2500 - 3499

$ 57.65                            $ 115.30

3 Automobile

3500 - up

$ 71.15                            $ 142.30

 

 

 

1 Truck

thru 1999

$ 46.65                           $ 93.30

2 Truck

2000 - 3000

$ 57.65                           $ 115.30

3 Truck

3001 - 5000

$ 71.15                           $ 142.30

 

 

 

Travel Trailer

 

$ 52.65                           $ 105.30

Motor Home

 

$ 72.90                           $ 145.80

Motorcycle

 

$ 41.65                           $  83.30



Initial Registration Fee

The initial application for registration of a motor vehicle is $225.00. This fee applies to private automobiles, motor homes and trucks weighing less than 5,000 pounds. There are exemptions to this fee, including, but not limited to the following:

  • Transfer of a license plate from a motor vehicle that has been disposed or is currently not in operable condition to a newly acquired motor vehicle
  • Registration renewal
  • Transfer of title between co-owners
Latest News
3/28/2014
Tax Collector Saves Motorists Money

2/18/2014
Join Our Team . . . We're Looking For A Customer Service Rockstar!

2/10/2014
Veteran Designation Available On Florida Driver License and Identification Cards

1/8/2014
Proposed Legislation Looks to Increase Efficiency, Convenience, and Security of Concealed Weapon Permit Applications

11/26/2013
TAX COLLECTOR'S OFFICE TO BE CLOSED HALF-DAY FOR EQUIPMENT UPGRADES

Office Hours:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday: 8 am to 4:30 pm

Wednesday: 8:30 am to 4:30 pm

Driver License/Identity Card Services offered daily from 8:30 am to 3:30 pm.

Office Locations:

Phone: (850) 892-8121

DeFuniak Springs
Courthouse
571 US Hwy 90 E.

Santa Rosa Beach
Courthouse Annex
Hwy 331 South

Please direct mail for both offices to the address below.

Mailing Address
PO Box 510
DeFuniak Springs, FL 32435
Make it easy… Renew your registration online!

To renew your registration online, simply click on the Motor Vehicle & Vessel Registration Renewal Link Under the Payment Center Tab.
Don't Empty Your Bank Account All At Once

Pay your property taxes in four quarterly installments rather than one lump sum payment. To enroll in the program for 2011, please submit a completed Property Tax Installment Plan Application by April 30. Download an application under the Property Tab on the Forms Menu.

Follow Us On Facebook and Twitter

 | Walton County Tax Collector, Rhonda Skipper


Follow WaltonCountyTax on Twitter